Recommended: Paper Girls

Title: Paper Girls

Writer: Brian K. Vaughan. Illustrator: Cliff Chiang & Matt Wilson. Publisher: Image

I can’t remember the exact reason I added Paper Girls to my pull list. I have a vague recollection of being drawn to the front cover in Previews and the write up led me to thinking that girls were the main characters. I wasn’t very familiar with Brian K Vaughan’s work, although I now know he wrote Saga, which my husband says is very good (I promise to read it at some point). I guess I just thought “why not”. I’ve not been disappointed by it.

The Paper Girls story starts on the 1 November 1988, the day after Halloween. A group of local paper girls meet up to do their paper rounds together on the morning after Halloween. Lone paper rounds are a bit risky with Halloween revellers still hanging around in the early hours of All Saint’s Day. Things rapidly get interesting when a costumed assailant steals their walkie talkie. And that’s all I’m telling you because I don’t want to ruin it. I found the story to be kind of a mixture of The Goonies and Flight of the Navigator but with mostly girls instead of boys ……….and dinosaurs.

Being a child of the 80’s I loved the era specific details, I’m guessing the creators are of a similar age to me. There were several references to 1980’s culture and events including the Chernobyl nuclear accident in 1986. There is a Farside calendar similar to one I remember my parents having (I used to flick through it on a regular basis) and I’m pretty sure my teddy Hercie makes an appearance. The cute letters page is based around the American Newspaper Delivery Guild and their mascot Petey Roy, paperboy. A survey, art contest and a four piece poster to collect really gives the whole thing the feel of magazines I used to get. All in all it made me feel quite nostalgic.

Aside from sending me on a trip down memory lane, the story is very engaging and ends on a pretty intriguing cliffhanger. I absolutely love the illustration. It really draws you into the comic. Now is a great time to jump in as the first story arc has been released as a trade paperback and issue 6 is due out any day now. I would strongly recommend you head to your local comic shop and pick up a copy of the first trade paperback and get the next story arc put on your pull list.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

