A little update and a bit about Thought Bubble 2015.

It’s been a while. Mainly because I’ve been a bit stuck on what to write about. I started the blog thinking I would do reviews, but I realised reviews aren’t really for me. I hate saying I didn’t like a comic. I know how much work goes in to putting a comic together, so I wouldn’t want to say bad things about someone’s work just because it wasn’t to my taste. I’m going to keep writing, I just might steer clear of reviews for a while!

So to Though Bubble 2015. It was awesome. We had a slight change of plan. Pete and I were meant to be helping our friend on her stall, but she couldn’t make it. Lucky we’d bought a spare ticket, just in case. I got a lot of comics signed, some of which are below, and bought a lot of beautiful artwork (also below – I’ll add the artists links to my new links page), went to an interesting panel about Queer comics, saw a vampire hunters kit and had cheese for breakfast (much to Pete’s despair).

Every year I leave Thought Bubble with a weird mix of emotions. I’m inspired and in awe of the amazing talents at the show. I want to make zines and draw and create. But I also have regret that I didn’t push myself hard enough when I finished university and then I go through the “what’s the point anyway” phase. Almost in anticipation of this¬†melancholy, on the train ride home Pete suggested having a go at Sketchnoting. He even bought me some nice pens the next day. So in the hope that I can get my drawing juices flowing again, I’m going to try it. I’m half way through drawing up my first weekly diary. I’ll share it as soon as I’ve finished it.

I’ll leave you with a test doodle I did of Quasar. I’d love to hear if anyone has any sketchnoting tips.

Quasar

 

 

Leave a Reply

